Talk About Developing and Structuring a Large Zerynth Project

Hi,

I am an old hardware engineer from transistor age :slight_smile:

When I first started dealing with electronics as a hobby the radio tubes were leaving their places to transistors and integrated circuits were not in the market yet. Obviously there were no microprocessors, no C around. Computers were room size. Then I met the IC, afterwards the uP, I did many serious hardware projects with ICs, I wrote my first programs on Sinclair ZX Spectrum (a valuable toy) in Z80 Assembly language and in Basic  during university education.  At that time I was dreaming writing reusable structured embedded software in C but the uP speeds and memory capacities were not sufficient enough to realize this. Then my career took me from engineering to management positions and I stayed away from ongoing developments in this technology. Now, after about 35 years, as a retired engineer I turned back to my hobby and trying to fill the gap between the Z80 and STM32. Not easy, takes time.

The question: How could be the best embedded way to develop and manage a large Python project in general and particular for Zerynth? The project (or package) shall probably consist of several files each about different part of the project and due to step by step development, however, I/O and Interface definitions have to be together in same file to prevent possible conflicts. Building the documents, publishing, sharing is another side of this issue. (Examples found here in the documents are all small applications dedicated to a single I/O, interface or feature).

I appreciate guidance of experienced developers very much. 

Hi,