Debugging

Hi,

I am sorry guys if I am asking a weird question,
can anyone guide me to debug in the studio.

Thanks in advance

Hi Boda,

If you tell me in which feature you find an issue, I can better understand the problem and help you to debug.

Hi Matteo,

I am just a beginner to Zerynth, lik in other IDEs is there any probability of having step by step execution etc such debugging capabilities… 
I am just asking this thing because I am obsessed with this way of debugging in traditional IDEs …is there any thing like this in Zerynth.

Hi Boda,

to debug your script in Python you can insert in critical points a try-except cycle printing the exception you get.

Furthermore, Zerynth Studio allows you to backtrace the exception you get; in your serial monitor, when you print the exception you can click over the exception and in the Zerynth Studio console you can find the backtrace of the exception.

Hope this can help you.

Hi Matteo,

I am having the same problem. And I don’t think you have answered Boda’s question. In other IDE’s (especially for C and C++) it is possible, in debug mode, to execute each line of source code one by one, and inspect the contents of variables, registers, etc. at each step. You can also execute to break points specified in the source, or execute until a specified variable changes, etc. This is an extremely useful way of debugging, and I think it is what Boda was originally asking about.